BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Sim Racing > Triple Monitor Setup Help
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-17-2023, 11:03 AM   #1
///d
Captain
///d's Avatar
United_States
1812
Rep
611
Posts

Drives: F15 35d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Minne-snow-ta

iTrader: (0)

Triple Monitor Setup Help

I'm posting this in the Sim Racing forum because I feel the best advice and knowledge will be found here.

I'm having issues with setting up triples in DCS and MSFS. The side monitors horizon is really diagonal. I've followed all tutorials and videos on how to set up triples for these two flight sims, and no one in those videos seems to have this same issue. I've tried with and without bezel hiders.

DCS has a graphics option for 3 screens, and I have the resolution at 7680x1440.

MSFS has you set up 2 more viewpoints, and has options for angle, height, and roll, but I cant get a diagonal horizon without the canopy being really far off.

I'm thinking it may be an issue with my PC monitor config, and not necessarily in-game configs.

This photo is of MSFS. I get the same issue in ant aircraft I use.
Attached Images
 
__________________
F15 35d M Sport (SOLD ) | F30 328i | 2020 Tacoma TRD Pro

My Diesel Information Thread | My Wheels, Tires, and Fitment Thread | My Teardrop Camper Build | My F15 Suspension Lift Thread
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2023, 01:53 PM   #2
NYG
Brigadier General
NYG's Avatar
United_States
10580
Rep
3,643
Posts

Drives: Corvette Z06
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Brooklyn, NY

iTrader: (0)

Are you using nVidia surround?

Have you tried lowering FOV?

I don't have much experience on DCS so hard to say but although horizon warp is normal, I agree that it seems exaggerated a bit on your picture.

Looks like you're running ~170 degrees based on screens
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2023, 08:41 AM   #3
///d
Captain
///d's Avatar
United_States
1812
Rep
611
Posts

Drives: F15 35d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Minne-snow-ta

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYG View Post
Are you using nVidia surround?

Have you tried lowering FOV?

I don't have much experience on DCS so hard to say but although horizon warp is normal, I agree that it seems exaggerated a bit on your picture.

Looks like you're running ~170 degrees based on screens
I am not using Nvidia Surround. My understanding is it is not required since DCS has triple support.

I have tried adjusting FOV, but it does not change the horizon.

Yes I'm at about 170deg.
__________________
F15 35d M Sport (SOLD ) | F30 328i | 2020 Tacoma TRD Pro

My Diesel Information Thread | My Wheels, Tires, and Fitment Thread | My Teardrop Camper Build | My F15 Suspension Lift Thread
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2023, 08:51 AM   #4
///d
Captain
///d's Avatar
United_States
1812
Rep
611
Posts

Drives: F15 35d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Minne-snow-ta

iTrader: (0)

Dang3r you're big with DCS, do you have any ideas?
__________________
F15 35d M Sport (SOLD ) | F30 328i | 2020 Tacoma TRD Pro

My Diesel Information Thread | My Wheels, Tires, and Fitment Thread | My Teardrop Camper Build | My F15 Suspension Lift Thread
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2023, 09:13 AM   #5
NYG
Brigadier General
NYG's Avatar
United_States
10580
Rep
3,643
Posts

Drives: Corvette Z06
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Brooklyn, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///d View Post
I am not using Nvidia Surround. My understanding is it is not required since DCS has triple support.

I have tried adjusting FOV, but it does not change the horizon.

Yes I'm at about 170deg.
It's not required for iRacing either but truthfully, I get better results with nVidia surround on. I also get better FPS because I can run full screen. It may be different on DCS but could be worth a shot?
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2023, 10:17 AM   #6
///d
Captain
///d's Avatar
United_States
1812
Rep
611
Posts

Drives: F15 35d M Sport
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Minne-snow-ta

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYG View Post
It's not required for iRacing either but truthfully, I get better results with nVidia surround on. I also get better FPS because I can run full screen. It may be different on DCS but could be worth a shot?
Yeah I can give it a try and see what it does. I try to avoid it because;
1) it pushes all of my icons and start menu to the far left
2) most games it stretches the image on the side monitors
__________________
F15 35d M Sport (SOLD ) | F30 328i | 2020 Tacoma TRD Pro

My Diesel Information Thread | My Wheels, Tires, and Fitment Thread | My Teardrop Camper Build | My F15 Suspension Lift Thread
Appreciate 0
      02-21-2023, 10:21 AM   #7
NYG
Brigadier General
NYG's Avatar
United_States
10580
Rep
3,643
Posts

Drives: Corvette Z06
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Brooklyn, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///d View Post
Yeah I can give it a try and see what it does. I try to avoid it because;
1) it pushes all of my icons and start menu to the far left
2) most games it stretches the image on the side monitors
I'm lucky that I have a dedicated setup for sim racing but I understand what you're saying. It would be a nuisance if I had to use the computer for other things.

You can turn it off when you're done but I guess that's annoying too. Would be interested to hear if nSurround helps.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST