BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > Second Generation 1 Series Forum > DIY Guides and Instructions > Bmw m140i LCI2 shadow business nav upgrade HELP
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-23-2019, 10:53 AM   #1
Josiahfurnival
New Member
1
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: Bmw m140i shadow edition
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Bmw m140i LCI2 shadow business nav upgrade HELP

I have recently purchased an m140i shadow with business nav LCI2 but looking to upgrade to the pro nav screen ; as the business nav looks odd in the car. However, i am unsure on whether i need just the screen or the whole unit. I have all the features on the business nav (bmw connected services etc) so would i need just a screen (and coding) to give me all the pro nav features? Ive added a pic to one i have seen online to purchase - any help would be appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2019, 02:48 AM   #2
Crassus
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
222
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 19' G20 X3 20i & 19' M140i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

The beauty of LCI2 is that Business and Pro Media, unlike when the F20 debuted, have the same head unit. You only need a screen and coding.

I've ordered my M140i without Pro Media so that I can save 900 by picking up a used 8.8 screen on eBay for 250 and upgrade my car.
__________________
Previous Bimmers: F25 X3 20d LCI xLine, F30 320d Luxury
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2019, 06:09 AM   #3
Josiahfurnival
New Member
1
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: Bmw m140i shadow edition
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crassus View Post
The beauty of LCI2 is that Business and Pro Media, unlike when the F20 debuted, have the same head unit. You only need a screen and coding.

I've ordered my M140i without Pro Media so that I can save £900 by picking up a used 8.8 screen on eBay for £250 and upgrade my car.
Ah sweet! Is there any particular model of screen i need to be looking for? I have seen alot of 8.8 inch screens but unsure which ones will be compatible? E.g. year of production? And what does the back of the screen need to look like I've seen 2 styles. In terms of coding.. would bimmercode do the trick?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2019, 03:37 PM   #4
Crassus
Lieutenant
United Kingdom
222
Rep
548
Posts

Drives: 19' G20 X3 20i & 19' M140i
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josiahfurnival View Post
Ah sweet! Is there any particular model of screen i need to be looking for? I have seen alot of 8.8 inch screens but unsure which ones will be compatible? E.g. year of production? And what does the back of the screen need to look like I've seen 2 styles. In terms of coding.. would bimmercode do the trick?

Thanks!
You need a RHD screen for the F20. However the F30 right hand screen works too.

I haven't done the retrofit yet because I haven't taken delivery of my car yet. In the mean time here are some threads about part number and coding the larger screen resolution.

https://www.babybmw.net/forum/viewto...98564&start=30 https://www.2addicts.com/forums/show....php?t=1253651

Many eBay listings have a 30 day return policy so you can always get a refund if you have ordered the wrong screen.
__________________
Previous Bimmers: F25 X3 20d LCI xLine, F30 320d Luxury
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2021, 04:58 AM   #5
nicolacana
New Member
Italy
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F20 lci2 125d stageI
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Venice

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Josiahfurnival View Post
I have recently purchased an m140i shadow with business nav LCI2 but looking to upgrade to the pro nav screen ; as the business nav looks odd in the car. However, i am unsure on whether i need just the screen or the whole unit. I have all the features on the business nav (bmw connected services etc) so would i need just a screen (and coding) to give me all the pro nav features? Ive added a pic to one i have seen online to purchase - any help would be appreciated.


Hi everyone,
I really cannot understand it reading from also from other forums.

I have a F20 LCI2 2018 with small screen navigator (from realoem 65506837128). I think its the evo one (the one with big vertical rectangles in menu page).

I would like to upgrade to the 8.5" one.

Do I just need to buy the screen and plug it or also the head unit?
(from realoem is this 65508709339?) will it work?

And other questions:
Will the controller work? will the touchscreen work?

Thank you very much
Appreciate 0
      04-21-2021, 03:37 AM   #6
connermurphy
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: BMW 120i Shadow Edition
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolacana View Post
Hi everyone,
I really cannot understand it reading from also from other forums.

I have a F20 LCI2 2018 with small screen navigator (from realoem 65506837128). I think its the evo one (the one with big vertical rectangles in menu page).

I would like to upgrade to the 8.5" one.

Do I just need to buy the screen and plug it or also the head unit?
(from realoem is this 65508709339?) will it work?

And other questions:
Will the controller work? will the touchscreen work?

Thank you very much
Hey, I saw on another forum that with 2018+ LCI2 models you should be fine to buy the part number you specified and swap straight out with just some coding. Make sure you have HU_EntryNav2 (which you should). If the right coding is set, the touch screen should also work. As for the iDrive controller, you would need to swap out the head unit I think.

I have a 2019 LCI2 with Business Nav with the 6.5" screen. I have ordered the 8.8" screen with 65508709338. Hoping it will be here for the weekend and I can get it coded in. I will let you know how it goes.
Appreciate 0
      05-04-2021, 09:28 AM   #7
nicolacana
New Member
Italy
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F20 lci2 125d stageI
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Venice

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by connermurphy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolacana View Post
Hi everyone,
I really cannot understand it reading from also from other forums.

I have a F20 LCI2 2018 with small screen navigator (from realoem 65506837128). I think its the evo one (the one with big vertical rectangles in menu page).

I would like to upgrade to the 8.5" one.

Do I just need to buy the screen and plug it or also the head unit?
(from realoem is this 65508709339?) will it work?

And other questions:
Will the controller work? will the touchscreen work?

Thank you very much
Hey, I saw on another forum that with 2018+ LCI2 models you should be fine to buy the part number you specified and swap straight out with just some coding. Make sure you have HU_EntryNav2 (which you should). If the right coding is set, the touch screen should also work. As for the iDrive controller, you would need to swap out the head unit I think.

I have a 2019 LCI2 with Business Nav with the 6.5" screen. I have ordered the 8.8" screen with 65508709338. Hoping it will be here for the weekend and I can get it coded in. I will let you know how it goes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by connermurphy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by nicolacana View Post
Hi everyone,
I really cannot understand it reading from also from other forums.

I have a F20 LCI2 2018 with small screen navigator (from realoem 65506837128). I think its the evo one (the one with big vertical rectangles in menu page).

I would like to upgrade to the 8.5" one.

Do I just need to buy the screen and plug it or also the head unit?
(from realoem is this 65508709339?) will it work?

And other questions:
Will the controller work? will the touchscreen work?

Thank you very much
Hey, I saw on another forum that with 2018+ LCI2 models you should be fine to buy the part number you specified and swap straight out with just some coding. Make sure you have HU_EntryNav2 (which you should). If the right coding is set, the touch screen should also work. As for the iDrive controller, you would need to swap out the head unit I think.

I have a 2019 LCI2 with Business Nav with the 6.5" screen. I have ordered the 8.8" screen with 65508709338. Hoping it will be here for the weekend and I can get it coded in. I will let you know how it goes.

Thank you mate! Let me know if it works
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST