BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > Second Generation 1 Series Forum > 2012 BMW 1-Series Sporthatch (F20) Discussion > F20 Cluster Retrofit ISSUE
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-06-2020, 09:52 AM   #1
A20C
New Member
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F20 2016 116D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

F20 Cluster Retrofit ISSUE

Hi,

I have a lci 2016 f20 and i've run in to a problem with a cluster retrofit.
I purchased the latest f20 cluster, it came from a 2018 vehicle the updated one.

I took it to a guy who i believed would virginize it and code it. He completed it but never virginized, i drove away happy. I then started noticing the trip distance was going up but the mileage was not updating correctly. Monitoring it i spoke to him and he said he never virginized it and didn't say he would. Forget that now. I did take it back to him and he did 'fix the problem' which only lasted temporarily as it still doesn't update. B the mileage that i did between first code session and second code session did not show up in the 2nd coding session, so i've essentially set my car mileage to 100 miles or so backwards.

If i take the cluster to someone else to get it virginized and recoded will i get the correct miles on the odometer and removal of the red-dot?
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 05:54 AM   #2
A20C
New Member
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F20 2016 116D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

its stuck on an amount, after driving it resets back to a certain number which is 58450 miles
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2020, 10:23 AM   #3
A20C
New Member
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F20 2016 116D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Can anyone guide me to the right place to post this?
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2020, 10:56 AM   #4
No one
Captain
349
Rep
862
Posts

Drives: F21 118i
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Undisclosed

iTrader: (0)

It looks like a DIY thread actually.

Furthermore, you can save some space and time by searching (see the menu at the top of the forum page) before posting. The DIY forum has a similar thread on it's first page.

Also, notice that F20/F21 have a lot in common with the 2 Series and are very much the same(?) as the 3 Series coding-wise (the design of the cluster is different). Those two other Series forums are much more populated than this one.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2020, 03:57 AM   #5
A20C
New Member
1
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: F20 2016 116D M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by No one View Post
It looks like a DIY thread actually.

Furthermore, you can save some space and time by searching (see the menu at the top of the forum page) before posting. The DIY forum has a similar thread on it's first page.

Also, notice that F20/F21 have a lot in common with the 2 Series and are very much the same(?) as the 3 Series coding-wise (the design of the cluster is different). Those two other Series forums are much more populated than this one.
Thank you, i did originally see that thread , but it doesn't really help since his issue was loading the miles on the cluster. I assume he never coded it prior and simply just installed it. thanks for your suggestion ill hit up the other subforums many thanks
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST