BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Site Related Announcements - Suggestions - Feedback - Questions > Notifications not visible?
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-22-2022, 12:32 PM   #23
GOLFFRR
GOLFFRR's Avatar
9187
Rep
26,323
Posts

Drives: GOLFFRR cart
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: we sell BMWs to "ALL" US states

iTrader: (4)

Yea mine keeps doing that also. If I close the window and reopen it i can access it but im sure its on the list of things that need addressed. Always little bugs here and there when change is in process
__________________

BEFORE YOU BUY YOUR NEXT BMW, PM ME FIRST WE CAN HOOK YOU UP!
Jimmy Miller:jmiller@stevethomasbmw.com Cell:805-509-2048
If you have any issues getting a hold of Jimmy M PLEASE PM me, I'm available everyday till 545pm!
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 03:29 PM   #24
HerkHealer
Captain
HerkHealer's Avatar
657
Rep
918
Posts

Drives: G30/M550
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Nashua NH

iTrader: (0)

Finally fixed the exploding Avatar today.

If you're using MS Edge go to settings, history, All. Use the three dots up top and "clear browse data". Then it takes you to another screen where you have to use the pulldown tab under "time range". Select at least a week or more. Make sure Cached images and Files are selected below. Select Clear Now.

Thanks Bill Gates for making this SO EASY !
__________________
2020 M550 / Dark Graphite / Napa Saddle Brown / DHP Pkg / Exec Pkg / Luxury Pkg / Parking Asst Pkg
Appreciate 1
cmyx6go12051.50
      06-22-2022, 05:02 PM   #25
cmyx6go
Lieutenant Colonel
cmyx6go's Avatar
12052
Rep
1,905
Posts

Drives: 2022 X6///M Comp
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: NYC

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2019 X6 ///M  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerkHealer View Post
Finally fixed the exploding Avatar today.

If you're using MS Edge go to settings, history, All. Use the three dots up top and "clear browse data". Then it takes you to another screen where you have to use the pulldown tab under "time range". Select at least a week or more. Make sure Cached images and Files are selected below. Select Clear Now.

Thanks Bill Gates for making this SO EASY !
Any idea how to fix on iPhone? My desktop is fine now after following apptests instructions but my phone is still screwy.
__________________
I thought I was a good person but the way I react when people drive slowly in the left lane would suggest otherwise
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:16 PM   #26
HerkHealer
Captain
HerkHealer's Avatar
657
Rep
918
Posts

Drives: G30/M550
Join Date: Aug 2021
Location: Nashua NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmyx6go View Post
Any idea how to fix on iPhone? My desktop is fine now after following apptests instructions but my phone is still screwy.
Sorry I dont. I have Android/Galaxy phone. Try to clear your phone history/cache for the past week. That may work.
__________________
2020 M550 / Dark Graphite / Napa Saddle Brown / DHP Pkg / Exec Pkg / Luxury Pkg / Parking Asst Pkg
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:29 PM   #27
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

OOOHH that's annoying as "f" I'm guessing the coding kid was taking Acid or snorting glue that day, not BP's fault, this looks like a change on the vbulletin thing.

Why does everything in life get messed around with.
Golden rule "if it ant broke don't fix it"

same thing with Youtube, Facebook, Netflix,
somone has to justify there job

OH and don't even get me started on windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by forcefed View Post
Yesterday the notifications were on the left side, today they're on the right side for some reason and you can barely access let alone clear them.
Anyone else with this issue?
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:32 PM   #28
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

ok that works, now my brain has got to get used to the new layout and where to click

1.5 seconds later

NVM got used to it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark View Post
Make sure to clear your cache, by pressing CTRL-R, using your mouse and clicking on the reload icon, or closing the browser and relaunch. This will refresh the helper files to correctly position the notification box

Let me know if it doesnt work
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:33 PM   #29
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

works for me Chrome here

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmg View Post
It doesn't work for me. I'm on CHROME.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:34 PM   #30
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

Sorry IT tech here, and I just spit tea all over my keyboard

you sir owe me a new keyboard :l ol:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark View Post
reboot?
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:36 PM   #31
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MPhatic View Post
I did CTRL-R and my notifications box is still off the screen. PC
need to go in manually and do it
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:38 PM   #32
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

there you go I have no sympathy for you what soever

at work last week a lot of our apps at work are Legacy and stopped working due to MS forcing us over from IE to Edge

that went down like a hooker at a wedding

Quote:
Originally Posted by HerkHealer View Post
It does NOT happen in Firefox, but is happening on MS Edge. Which I prefer to use.
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:40 PM   #33
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

you MUST go in manually and do it ^^^ see previous post maybe go back 7 days, I don't know what F5 does etc control keys, maybe not going back far enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by apptest View Post
The F15 thing is weird, but its still just the cache, actually all the forums use the same base files, but your browser for whatever reason is hanging onto the old files for the F15 section. Try refreshing the cache with CTRL (or apple key) F5 or CTRL/Apple key R

Sometimes I find that pressing CTRL and physically clicking the refresh icon in the browser toolbar also does the trick
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 05:44 PM   #34
nazali
Captain
nazali's Avatar
420
Rep
734
Posts

Drives: car
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: here

iTrader: (0)

from wiki

"Ctrl F5 (or Ctrl + F5) reloads the current page including the browser cache. It's called Hard reload. It means that the browser will not use the current cache but will be forced to download again all the files (js files, images, scripts, …). You will have the most fresh version of the page sent by the server."

That's probably the issue, go in and MANUALLY clear the cache

Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 07:13 PM   #35
apptest
Enlisted Member
apptest's Avatar
Austria
2056
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 F32 Coupe!
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmg View Post
I cleared my cookies from desktop and logged in again, the profile avatar is still huge and the notifications are not fixed. Strangely enough, I did NOT have to clear any cookies on my laptop and it looks fine! Both are on Chrome.
Has nothing to do with cookies. It’s a cache issue on your browser. Either try the CTRL F5 trick or wait it out as all browsers eventually refresh their cache
__________________
Test 23456rt
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 07:18 PM   #36
vreihen16
Recovering Perfectionist
vreihen16's Avatar
Ukraine
9063
Rep
752
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW i3 BEV
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Orange County, NY

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
It was a CSS change that's still cached, correct?????
__________________
2015 BMW i3 BEV, Giga World (Lodge interior), Tech/Driving Assist Packages, 20K miles
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 07:33 PM   #37
apptest
Enlisted Member
apptest's Avatar
Austria
2056
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 F32 Coupe!
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by vreihen16 View Post
It was a CSS change that's still cached, correct?????
Yes
__________________
Test 23456rt
Appreciate 1
vreihen169062.50
      06-22-2022, 07:35 PM   #38
jmg
Lieutenant General
jmg's Avatar
United_States
15220
Rep
12,795
Posts

Drives: G82 M4 Comp X-Drive, i3 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2022 G82 M4C X-Drive  [0.00]
2018 F80 M3 CS  [0.00]
2019 i3 BEV  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by apptest View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmg View Post
I cleared my cookies from desktop and logged in again, the profile avatar is still huge and the notifications are not fixed. Strangely enough, I did NOT have to clear any cookies on my laptop and it looks fine! Both are on Chrome.
Has nothing to do with cookies. It’s a cache issue on your browser. Either try the CTRL F5 trick or wait it out as all browsers eventually refresh their cache
Thanks!!! I'm on Mac so control-f5 doesn't really work but I cleared the cache manually and it worked!
__________________

2022 G82///M4 Competition X-Drive - KW-HAS, EBC Bluestuff, Millway Race Camber Plates, PSI High Flow Midpipe, Lightweight Front Lip, M Perf Flow Through Wing
Previous • 2018 F80 ///M3 CS • 2016 F80 ///M3
Appreciate 2
apptest2056.00
      06-22-2022, 07:39 PM   #39
jmg
Lieutenant General
jmg's Avatar
United_States
15220
Rep
12,795
Posts

Drives: G82 M4 Comp X-Drive, i3 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2022 G82 M4C X-Drive  [0.00]
2018 F80 M3 CS  [0.00]
2019 i3 BEV  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by vreihen16 View Post
It was a CSS change that's still cached, correct?????
Quote:
Originally Posted by apptest View Post
Yes
Reaching waaaaay back into the crates from my web design days, there was an apache command to force new style sheets. That was a lifetime ago though, so I don't remember how to code it anymore.
__________________

2022 G82///M4 Competition X-Drive - KW-HAS, EBC Bluestuff, Millway Race Camber Plates, PSI High Flow Midpipe, Lightweight Front Lip, M Perf Flow Through Wing
Previous • 2018 F80 ///M3 CS • 2016 F80 ///M3
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2022, 08:51 PM   #40
apptest
Enlisted Member
apptest's Avatar
Austria
2056
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 F32 Coupe!
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmg View Post
Reaching waaaaay back into the crates from my web design days, there was an apache command to force new style sheets. That was a lifetime ago though, so I don't remember how to code it anymore.
Well Apache is a web server so you wouldn’t want to do it that way, but yes it is easy to force new style sheets but our changes are not done yet so we don’t want to do that repeatedly. The number of people sitting on cache for an extended period of time will be low, so as a transient step we decided to leave it alone. But after all the work is done, we might just force a refresh on everyone which is easy enough
__________________
Test 23456rt
Appreciate 2
jmg15220.00
vreihen169062.50
      06-23-2022, 02:12 AM   #41
jmg
Lieutenant General
jmg's Avatar
United_States
15220
Rep
12,795
Posts

Drives: G82 M4 Comp X-Drive, i3 LCI
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2022 G82 M4C X-Drive  [0.00]
2018 F80 M3 CS  [0.00]
2019 i3 BEV  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by apptest View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmg View Post
Reaching waaaaay back into the crates from my web design days, there was an apache command to force new style sheets. That was a lifetime ago though, so I don't remember how to code it anymore.
Well Apache is a web server so you wouldn’t want to do it that way, but yes it is easy to force new style sheets but our changes are not done yet so we don’t want to do that repeatedly. The number of people sitting on cache for an extended period of time will be low, so as a transient step we decided to leave it alone. But after all the work is done, we might just force a refresh on everyone which is easy enough
Like I said…. The cobwebs are thick and I was the design guy! My coding was rudimentary.
__________________

2022 G82///M4 Competition X-Drive - KW-HAS, EBC Bluestuff, Millway Race Camber Plates, PSI High Flow Midpipe, Lightweight Front Lip, M Perf Flow Through Wing
Previous • 2018 F80 ///M3 CS • 2016 F80 ///M3
Appreciate 1
apptest2056.00
      06-24-2022, 08:26 PM   #42
SD ///M4
///Multiple
SD ///M4's Avatar
United_States
2935
Rep
4,245
Posts

Drives: M4 Coupe | M3 | Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by apptest droid View Post
You have a seriously strong browser cache

Try CTRL F5 or just F5
The CTRL F5 worked for me! Thanks!
__________________
The Coupe: 2016 M4 | Sakhir Orange | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | More | ED 5/13/16
The Sedan: 2018 M3 | San Marino Blue | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | ZCP | ED 7/18/18
The Roadster: 2006 Z4 | Interlagos Blue | Black Extended Nappa Leather | Carbon Leather Trim | Purchased 7/19/12

Appreciate 0
      06-24-2022, 08:30 PM   #43
SD ///M4
///Multiple
SD ///M4's Avatar
United_States
2935
Rep
4,245
Posts

Drives: M4 Coupe | M3 | Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by HerkHealer View Post
Thanks Bill Gates for making this SO EASY !
Really? Nice try. Bill Gates left Microsoft in 2006 and Edge was developed in 2015.
__________________
The Coupe: 2016 M4 | Sakhir Orange | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | More | ED 5/13/16
The Sedan: 2018 M3 | San Marino Blue | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | ZCP | ED 7/18/18
The Roadster: 2006 Z4 | Interlagos Blue | Black Extended Nappa Leather | Carbon Leather Trim | Purchased 7/19/12

Appreciate 0
      06-25-2022, 06:57 PM   #44
forcefed
Second Lieutenant
209
Rep
214
Posts

Drives: .
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Today the notifications were showing up off the screen, had to scroll the window full screen to the right to see them lol
Ctrl+f5 fixed it though.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST