BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > Second Generation 1 Series Forum > 2012 BMW 1-Series Sporthatch (F20) Discussion > Oil Level sensor missing

08-01-2022, 07:17 PM   #1
MMW04
Registered
Norway
Rep
Drives: Bmw f20 118i

Oil Level sensor missing

Hi, I am very new to both Bimmerpost and BMW so this is all very new to me. I recently bought my first bmw which is a late 2013 BMW f20 118i. The car is great, but, I decided to do an oil change myself and I saw in the idrive that the oil measurement was inactive. I decided to investigate this when I changed my oil, I did find someone saying the sensor or wiring could be bad so I thought that could be it. I removed the skid plate under the car to take a look at the sensor, that is when I found out the hole sensor was missing. As I have seen on pictures the sensor should be right next to the oil drain plug at the bottom of the oil pan, well, it isn't. It seems that I have an oil pan without a hole for this sensor. I have tried looking for the wire but I haven't been able to find that either.

I do know that my car has gotten an engine replacement, the "new" engine is from a late 2011 model 118i. And from what I can find out the engine should have this sensor. The engine should be a n13b16a.

So I suspect sometime someone changed the oil pan for some reason and decided to skip the oil sensor.

Has anyone else ever had this problem?
Does anyone know where the wire to the oil level sensor comes from? I mean where does the other end of the wire connect. If I can find the wire I could probably just buy a new oil pan and a sensor. I guess if I make my bmw dealership fix this it's going to cost a fortune.

Thanks in advance for any answers.
If anyone has any questions please don't hesitate to ask.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2022, 09:44 PM   #2
No one
Major
Rep
Drives: F21 118i

Lightbulb

Hi.