BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > Second Generation 1 Series Forum > 2012 BMW 1-Series Sporthatch (F20) Discussion > Bmw online + internet
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-18-2012, 07:52 AM   #1
Snitskie
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: F20 116i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Bmw online + internet

Hi guys,

Can you tell me how I can get Bmw online and internet to work.
I have the iPhone 4 snap in adapter and all the options. Only BMW apps I didn\'t choose as that is for twitter etc.

Do I need tethering or something elde switched on?

Kind regards,
Mike
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 12:24 PM   #2
wolz
Second Lieutenant
wolz's Avatar
Sweden
4
Rep
216
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F20 120d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sweden

iTrader: (0)

Yup your right you need to enable internet sharing / tethering in your iphone. Go to settings -> general -> network and you'll find it!
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
Snitskie
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: F20 116i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

On my IPhone I can enable it.
Just server, username and password and does my telecom operator also has to do with it? I am using KPN in the netherlands.

I works via the plugin adapter right and not Bluetooth or?

Many thanks!

Mike
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 02:22 PM   #4
wolz
Second Lieutenant
wolz's Avatar
Sweden
4
Rep
216
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F20 120d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sweden

iTrader: (0)

Hmm sounds like your looking in the wrong menu. I don't know if it's any difference between iphone 4 and 4s. I got 4s and on mine I scroll down a bit in the network-menu, under "data-roaming" I have internet-sharing. That's where I click and then enable internet-sharing. Once enabled, devices connected to the phone through wifi, bluetooth or usb can utilize the phone as as a modem.

I'm not sure if the data goes through the usb(snap-in adapter) or bluetooth. Hopefully through the cable since that allowes for much higher data transfer-rate than BT.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2012, 05:36 PM   #5
Occean
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
34
Posts

 
Drives: 1 series
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Do you need navigation package to get this to work?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2012, 03:17 AM   #6
wolz
Second Lieutenant
wolz's Avatar
Sweden
4
Rep
216
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F20 120d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sweden

iTrader: (0)

I think the online-options can be ordered without having nav. Atleast the bmw-live option can. Snitskie what option do you have exactly?

In my case I only use BT, but I might get the Y-cable but I'm not sure I can utilize it, if I have the options needed. It's such a mess with the "high-tech-stuff" bmw live, connected drive, bmw apps etc. Not even bmw themselves seem to know what everything is and how it all works ;p The info-material is pretty poor.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2012, 12:36 PM   #7
Snitskie
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: F20 116i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

I have everything besides BMW apps but can get it to work. I get the message not available in my country etc etc.

I heard 2 guys in Germany got it to work. Maybe it also has to do with your provider.

Did anyone on the forum got it to work?

Kind regards,
Mike
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2012, 03:13 PM   #8
wolz
Second Lieutenant
wolz's Avatar
Sweden
4
Rep
216
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F20 120d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sweden

iTrader: (0)

I got it to work.... I have bmw live.

Got similar error-msg as you describe before I changed the settings on the phone to allow internet-sharing... Don't think it could depend on what provider you have, sounds odd that the carrier could remove that option.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2012, 03:17 PM   #9
Snitskie
New Member
3
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: F20 116i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The Netherlands

iTrader: (0)

Do you use the snap in adapter, y-cable or Bluetooth?
Any special settings in I-drive?

Anyone else got it work with his IPhone 4?

Kind regards,
Mike
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2012, 05:11 PM   #10
Shell
New Member
Shell's Avatar
South Africa
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: F10 528i M-Sport
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Johannesburg

iTrader: (0)

I have the same problem. I have an IPhone 4 and I also get the message that says Internet not available in my country (South Africa). But, the weirdest part is that it did work for a while a few months ago. When I got the car it didn't work and BMW couldn't help me with a solution. Then suddenly, for some unknown reason it started working for a while and now it doesn't again.

I suspect that it was after I updated my phone to IOS5 that it stopped working - but I can't say for sure.
Appreciate 0
      01-21-2012, 08:05 PM   #11
wolz
Second Lieutenant
wolz's Avatar
Sweden
4
Rep
216
Posts

 
Drives: bmw F20 120d
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: sweden

iTrader: (0)

I use bluetooth only, no Y-cable

I don't recall doing any specific settings on the car really, its all about the phone..

perhaps doublecheck telephone-device-menu-thingie in the i-drive... just to make sure the phones capabilities are selected, in my case I had two features, both were ticked by default.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST