BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Career Transition - Finance to Sales

10-20-2016, 11:22 AM   #1
ASAP
Major General
Rep
Drives: '23 X3 M40i

Has anyone done a transition of this sort? I work in Finance but am slowly getting tired of the desk job and ready to move on. I make solid money but I am ok with taking a pay cut if it pays off in the end. I want to be out and about and establish relationships and grown revenue for a company... Commission and qouta bearing jobs are expected... and as always there are good and bad sales jobs... any recommendations or tips? I know its a grind but its a different grind. Also, many years in, I realize my personality fit is much better for sales.
      10-20-2016, 12:47 PM   #2
BMW F22
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: ///M235i

I am in the same boat. Did sales for 4-5 years (not corporate). Been in project/financial management for the last 4 or so years and looking to go back toward sales. I talked to people I know who are either VPs of sales or are account executives and most of them told me you have to start at the bottom being a Sales Development Rep or Inside Sales Rep.

Up until a week ago I thought of that as the gospel until I spoke with more people that are in charge of sales teams. They said there's no reason why one can't start out as an Account Manager or Executive. One of then reminded me that a guy I work with (28 YO) worked here in finance for a few years and just transitioned over to corp sales earlier this year. So far he's been doing pretty well from what I heard.