BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > General BMW News and Cars Discussion > Vinyl Wrapping and Warranty

04-25-2016, 07:40 AM   #1
Derox
Rep
Drives: BMW X1

Vinyl Wrapping and Warranty

Hello Everyone

I'm new to the land of BMW, just purchased our first one 2016 X1 228i, i'm enjoying the ride however this is mostly a car for my fiance. She will be doing a lot of highway driving and I was thinking of Vinyl wrapping the car to protect it from stone chips and basically to keep the paint show room finish until we're ready to upgrade. Have any of you had experience with this and does this void any warranties BMW has? I imagine it should't, but its better to as. Wi'll be calling BMW Canada to find out what their stand on this is...

Any info/experiences/stories are much appreciated Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2016, 08:15 AM   #2
inTgr8r
Lieutenant General
Canada
Rep
Drives: M2 Comp

Is your only reason for wrapping the car to protect the paint?

Just clear bra the front and be done with it.
It will be much cheaper and provide better protection.

Vinyle wrap will not protect the front from stone chips very well.
'07 Z4 M Coupe Alpine White (sold)
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2016, 08:56 AM   #3
Derox
Rep

Its a little of both....to protect and to change the colour, my fiance wants a metallic dark gray colour. The cost isn't an issue, I work in the print/advertising industry so I'll basically be paying less to wrap the whole car than to pay someone for the clear bra install. Its essentially the same as putting the clear bra on so I imagine that it shouldn't void any warranties.
Appreciate 0
      04-25-2016, 09:22 AM   #4
hz_diesel
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2012 E92 335ix

Quote:
Originally Posted by inTgr8r View Post
Is your only reason for wrapping the car to protect the paint?

Just clear bra the front and be done with it.
It will be much cheaper and provide better protection.