BMW 1-Series Forum (F20) 135i - 1Addicts.com > Second Generation 1 Series Forum > 2012 BMW 1-Series Sporthatch (F20) Discussion > Sudden burst of throttle while backing up
Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-19-2012, 10:54 AM   #1
qwas
New Member
0

 
Drives: 116i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Israel


Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

Sudden burst of throttle while backing up

Hi guys,

This happened once before today, but was less (?) violent.

I was at the driveway, started the engine, put the auto gear box in reverse, and while slowly backing up, I got a sudden burst of throttle!

The car reversed faster even though I had my foot on the breaks, never touching the accelerator...

Wtf ?!

I had to quickly press the breaks hard for the engine's revs to go down, and the car to stop.

Second time it has happened, but never a set scenario.

Going to the dealers will only make me look like a freak, since reproducing this is a biatch.

Please advise.

D.
Appreciate 0
      08-21-2012, 07:21 AM   #2
AusF20
Captain
Australia
17

 
AusF20's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 125i M sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 788
iTrader: (0)

It sounds like the idle motor's sensor which adjusts the idle speed and response is not working properly
You should have it looked at soon
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2012, 03:53 AM   #3
qwas
New Member
0

 
Drives: 116i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Israel


Posts: 25
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AusF20 View Post
It sounds like the idle motor's sensor which adjusts the idle speed and response is not working properly
You should have it looked at soon
What I was thinking...

Good luck for me trying to convince them of the problem, it doesn't reproduce easily..

D.
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2012, 07:22 AM   #4
AusF20
Captain
Australia
17

 
AusF20's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 125i M sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brisbane


Posts: 788
iTrader: (0)

It should show up on the engine's memory log when they connect your car to their diagnosic equipment. They can also do an engine command to have it go through its programme. You could be lucky and never have a problem with it again, however I would still have it checked. The last thing you want is this unit fail in heavy traffic.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.




1addicts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST